Pegbar and Grill podcast

Series 2, Episode 7: Michael Dudok de Wit

0:00
2:16:20
Manda indietro di 15 secondi
Manda avanti di 15 secondi
With two Oscar nominations and one winning film, Michael Dudok de Wit is well known for his animated shorts and, most recently, as the director and co-writer of ‘The Red Turtle’ which was co-produced by Studio Ghibli. Michael discusses the process of transitioning from short to feature film and goes into detail about the lengthy production of ‘The Red Turtle’, from researching and storyboarding to the final animation. We also talk about animating for commercials, finding funding for short films and the state of adult feature animation, as well as Belgian comics and award shows. Michael Dudok de Wit links: Website: http://www.dudokdewit.co.uk/ The Red Turtle (trailer): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1Yw3AVDr6U Father and Daughter: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvA4Gn5OudI AT+T commercial: https://vimeo.com/89366415 Other links: Sylvain Chomet: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sylvain_Chomet The Illusionist (trailer): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5TglK8v1xs Heavy Metal (comic): http://www.heavymetal.com/ Heavy Metal (film trailer): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_MzWF8YLhY Moebius (Jean Giraud): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_Giraud Makoto Shinkai: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Makoto_Shinkai Jiro Taniguchi: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jiro_Taniguchi Guy Delisle: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guy_Delisle Make It Then Tell Everybody Podcast: http://makeitthentelleverybody.com/

Altri episodi di "Pegbar and Grill"

  • Pegbar and Grill podcast

    Series 2, Episode 14: FX Goby

    1:21:50

    ***PLEASE NOTE THIS PODCAST WAS RECORDED IN LATE 2016. PLEASE ACCEPT OUR APOLOGIES FOR OUR RIDICULOUS LATENESS IN RELEASING IT.*** Animation and Live-action Director, Fx Goby talks to us about the festival circuit and shares his tips on directing live action vs. animation. Fx is signed to Nexus Studios where he recently made his first ever 2D animated film, To Build a Fire. He reveals the lessons he’s learnt along the way and why he broke up with his creative partner, Matthieu Landour. Fx Goby https://www.fxgoby.com/about Nexus Studios https://nexusstudios.com/ The Elaborate End of Robert Ebb https://vimeo.com/63227537 To Build a Fire https://vimeo.com/246869455 JJ Abrams https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/J._J._Abrams Steven Spielberg https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steven_Spielberg CNC http://www.cnc.fr/web/en Aardman https://www.aardman.com/ Martin Scorsese https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000217/ Alex Grigg http://www.alexgrigg.com/ TVPaint https://www.tvpaint.com/ Tristan Menard http://www.tristanmenard.com/ Colin Bigelow http://www.colbigelow.com/ Composite films http://www.compositefilms.fr/ Mathieu Alvado https://soundcloud.com/mathieu-alvado Fonic sound http://fonic.co.uk/ EIFF https://www.edfilmfest.org.uk/ Claude Autant-Lara https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Claude_Autant-Lara Joyride https://www.thelineanimation.com/amaroandwaldensjoyride/ Rizzle Kicks - Tell Her https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jhSBocg1RsM PASSION http://www.passion-pictures.com/
  • Pegbar and Grill podcast

    Series 2, Episode 13: BXFTYS Audio

    1:26:47

    ***PLEASE NOTE THIS PODCAST WAS RECORDED IN LATE 2016. PLEASE ACCEPT OUR APOLOGIES FOR OUR RIDICULOUS LATENESS IN RELEASING IT.*** BXFTYS (Box of Toys) Audio is a creative music and sound design studio based in London. The studio was founded in 2011 and consists of Chris Didlick, Ben Laver, and Magnus Arwenhed.They have alway worked closely with us on several, some of which are listed below. We discuss copyright in music, performance rights and regulations around sound design and the current climate of commercial sound design. BXFTYS Website http://www.boxoftoysaudio.com/ BXFTYS Audio http://www.boxoftoysaudio.com/ https://soundcloud.com/bxftys Netil House Studios http://eatworkart.com/netil-house/studio-spaces/ Radium Audio https://radium-audio.com/ Everything I Can See From Here https://www.thelineanimation.com/work/everything-i-can-see-from-here Wall Flowers (2013) https://www.thelineanimation.com/work/wallflowers/ Super Turbo Atomic Ninja Rabit (2015) https://www.thelineanimation.com/work/super-turbo-atomic-ninja-rabbit/ The Wilhelm Scream https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cdbYsoEasio
  • Pegbar and Grill podcast

    Non perdere nemmeno un episodio di Pegbar and Grill. Iscriviti all'app gratuita GetPodcast.

    iOS buttonAndroid button
  • Pegbar and Grill podcast

    Series 2, Episode 12: Blue Zoo

    1:52:21

    ***PLEASE NOTE THIS PODCAST WAS RECORDED IN LATE 2016. PLEASE ACCEPT OUR APOLOGIES FOR OUR RIDICULOUS LATENESS IN RELEASING IT.*** Oli Hyatt and Tom Box are 2 of the co-founders of Blue Zoo, an animation production company based in London. They spoke to us about their studio, as well as Animation UK, an advocacy organisation for the animation industry, which successfully lobbied the UK government in 2012, leading to the introduction of the Animation Tax Relief. Oli and Tom provide fascinating insights into running a studio with more than 120 employees. They discuss the challenges of growing the company since its founding in 2000, and how they've struck a balance between profitability and creative fulfilment. Blue Zoo produce ads, idents, apps and VR, but they are best known for their children's TV series, which include Alphablocks, Digby Dragon, Numberblocks, Q Pootle 5 and Tree Fu Tom. In 2014 Oli was awarded an MBE for services to Children’s TV and Animation and in 2017 Blue Zoo was awarded the Children's BAFTA for Independent Production Company of the year. Tom Box’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrtombox Oli Hyatt’s profile on Screen Alliance http://www.ukscreenalliance.co.uk/profile/Oli-Hyatt Blue Zoo website: https://www.blue-zoo.co.uk/ Digby Dragon https://www.blue-zoo.co.uk/animation/digby-dragon/ Olive The Ostrich https://www.blue-zoo.co.uk/animation/olive-the-ostrich/ Animation UK: website http://www.ukscreenalliance.co.uk/about/animation-uk Note: In November 2016, UK Screen Association announced that it was joining forces with Animation UK to create the Screen Alliance UK http://www.ukscreenalliance.co.uk/index.php?/news/article/5064
  • Pegbar and Grill podcast

    Series 2, Episode 11: Jonathan Topf

    1:46:09

    ***PLEASE NOTE THIS PODCAST WAS RECORDED IN 2017. PLEASE ACCEPT OUR APOLOGIES FOR OUR RIDICULOUS LATENESS IN RELEASING IT.*** Jon Topf is a games designer, developer, animator, and a former member of The Line. Most recently he was lead developer for Monument Valley 2. Jon talked to us about how he first got into coding as a teenager and how he started his career as a mechanical engineer, before eventually getting into animation. He has worked as a VFX artists, and directed commercials at Studio AKA, before joining UsTwo Games. During his time at UsTwo, he created an IOS game in his spare time called Trick Shot. After this, he was appointed the director and lead developer of the sequel to the hugely successful phone game, Monument Valley. Jon Topf http://jonathantopf.com/ Monument Valley Game https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wC1jHHF_Wjo Tim Cook https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tim_Cook MC Escher http://www.mcescher.com/ Trick Shot http://trickshotgame.io/ UsTwo Games https://www.ustwo.com/ Gear VR http://www.samsung.com/global/galaxy/gear-vr Maya https://www.autodesk.co.uk/products/maya/overview Open source rendering software https://www.creativebloq.com/3d/top-free-rendering-software-cg-artists-91412918 Python https://www.python.org/ Side FX Houdini https://www.sidefx.com/ Arrival https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arrival_(film) Trick Shot http://trickshotgame.io/ Script Notes Podcast https://johnaugust.com/scriptnotes http://scriptnotes.net/304-location-is-where-its-at
  • Pegbar and Grill podcast

    Series 2, Episode 10: Ben Bocquelet

    2:06:10

    ***PLEASE NOTE THIS PODCAST WAS RECORDED IN LATE 2016. PLEASE ACCEPT OUR APOLOGIES FOR OUR RIDICULOUS LATENESS IN RELEASING IT.*** Ben Bocquelet is an animator, director, writer, and producer. He is best known as the creator of the multi award-winning and hilarious kids animated series, ‘The Amazing World of Gumball’ (2011-onwards). We sat down with Ben to discuss his rapid rise to success, starting with the fact that he was a latecomer to drawing. He tells us that his graduation film, ‘Hell’s Kitchen’ (2003), which helped him get a junior position at Studio AKA in London. After a few years there he found himself at Cartoon Network Development Studio Europe, where he helped develop other people's series proposals. Ben describes what it was like to find out that his own series concept, ‘The Amazing World of Gumball’ was the first to be commissioned at the development hub. We discuss the distinct aesthetic of the series, which partly comes from the use of layered animation techniques and photographed backgrounds, as well as assembling dozens of distinct characters, many of whom started as discarded elements from old unsuccessful commercial pitches. Ben Bocquelet links: Twitter https://twitter.com/benbocquelet Instagram https://www.instagram.com/ben_bocquelet/ ‘Hell’s Kitchen’ (2003) Dir. Ben Bocquelet: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ot5fVxvwmlo Gumball Wikia Page: http://theamazingworldofgumball.wikia.com/wiki/The_Amazing_World_of_Gumball Studio AKA: http://www.studioaka.co.uk/ ‘Hells Kitchen’ (Future Shorts film) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ot5fVxvwmlo EMCA school http://www.angouleme-emca.fr/fr/index.asp City Hunter https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/City_Hunter Fist of the North Star https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fist_of_the_North_Star JCBC (Production company) http://www.jsbc.fr/en/ Philippe Andre http://www.independ.net/directors/philippe-andre/ Spike Jonze https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spike_Jonze Chris Cunningham https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Cunningham Pictoplasma http://pictoplasma.com/ Up The Resolution http://www.uptheresolution.co.uk/ Saschka Unseld http://www.saschkaunseld.com/ Pinky Malinky https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pinky_Malinky Cartoon Network http://www.cartoonnetwork.co.uk/ Powerpuff Girl Movie https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Powerpuff_Girls_Movie Bob Camp https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bob_Camp Pixar https://www.pixar.com/#incredibles-2-home Daniel Lennard http://theamazingworldofgumball.wikia.com/wiki/Daniel_Lennard Mr Bean https://www.youtube.com/user/MrBean Antoine Perez http://theamazingworldofgumball.wikia.com/wiki/Antoine_Perez Adventure Time https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adventure_Time CRCR http://www.crcr.fr Studio 4c http://www.studio4c.co.jp/english/ Tyler the Creator https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tyler,_the_Creator Becky and Joe http://beckyandjoes.com/ Spaced https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0187664/
  • Pegbar and Grill podcast

    Series 2, Episode 9: Grant Orchard

    1:10:44

    Having first gained notoriety for his short films and commercials, Grant Orchard is now also known as the creator of the BAFTA and Emmy Award-winning pre-school series ‘Hey Duggee’. In our interview he discusses the transition from shorts to series and goes into detail on the production process, time management and artistic compromise, when working in children’s television. We also discuss how the animation industry and our approach to film distribution has changed over time. Grant Orchard Links: AKA Studio Profile: https://www.studioaka.co.uk/People/grantorchard Trailer for BAFTA winning and Oscar nominated short ‘A Morning Stroll’: https://vimeo.com/ondemand/2678 Park Football IMDb page: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt6022166/?ref_=nm_flmg_dr_4 ‘Hey Duggee’ Official Website: https://www.heyduggee.com/ Other Links: Monkey Dust IMDb: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0386224/ The Amazing World of Gumball CN page: http://www.cartoonnetwork.co.uk/show/gumball Eric Goldberg’s Rolo Advert (Plane): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g5FgC1j9KM4
  • Pegbar and Grill podcast

    Series 2, Episode 8: Neil Boyle

    1:54:02

    Neil Boyle is a 2D animator and director, who's career has seen him work alongside many of the great animators and directors. Neil discusses the transition between traditional animation techniques and more recent digital technology, discussing the advantages and difficulties of both methods. He tells the story of becoming Richard Williams’ assistant, starting his own studio and nearly losing 15 years worth of work. He reveals his personal working process and talks about the benefits of both the ‘pose to pose’ and ‘straight ahead’ methods. Neil Boyle links: Blog: http://thelastbelleblog.blogspot.co.uk/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/thelastbelle?lang=en The Last Belle (official website): http://www.thelastbelle.com/ The Last Belle (film): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ja1sjfnfjg0 Other Links: Richard Williams: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Williams_(animator) The Animator’s Survival Kit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Animator%27s_Survival_Kit Sylvain Chomet: Simpson’s Couch Gag: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5Tfq_bwyLs Kensuke’s Kingdom (upcoming film): http://www.cartoonbrew.com/feature-film/kensukes-kingdom-watch-proof-concept-teaser-european-feature-exclusive-149294.html
  • Pegbar and Grill podcast

    Series 2, Episode 7: Michael Dudok de Wit

    2:16:20

    With two Oscar nominations and one winning film, Michael Dudok de Wit is well known for his animated shorts and, most recently, as the director and co-writer of ‘The Red Turtle’ which was co-produced by Studio Ghibli. Michael discusses the process of transitioning from short to feature film and goes into detail about the lengthy production of ‘The Red Turtle’, from researching and storyboarding to the final animation. We also talk about animating for commercials, finding funding for short films and the state of adult feature animation, as well as Belgian comics and award shows. Michael Dudok de Wit links: Website: http://www.dudokdewit.co.uk/ The Red Turtle (trailer): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1Yw3AVDr6U Father and Daughter: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvA4Gn5OudI AT+T commercial: https://vimeo.com/89366415 Other links: Sylvain Chomet: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sylvain_Chomet The Illusionist (trailer): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5TglK8v1xs Heavy Metal (comic): http://www.heavymetal.com/ Heavy Metal (film trailer): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_MzWF8YLhY Moebius (Jean Giraud): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_Giraud Makoto Shinkai: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Makoto_Shinkai Jiro Taniguchi: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jiro_Taniguchi Guy Delisle: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guy_Delisle Make It Then Tell Everybody Podcast: http://makeitthentelleverybody.com/
  • Pegbar and Grill podcast

    Series 2, Episode 6: Iain Gardner

    1:53:29

    Iain Gardner is an animator, film maker, film programmer, and the artistic director of The McLaren award at The Edinburgh International Film Festival. Iain discusses his work as a film maker, his experience working on The Thief and The Cobbler and studying at The RCA. We talk about the future of animation in Scotland, as well as diving into the world of festival programming and festival strategy. Iain Gardner Links: Website http://www.iaingardner.co.uk/ Vimeo https://vimeo.com/iaingardneranimation Twitter https://twitter.com/IainGardnerAnim Edinburgh Film Festival : McLaren Award http://www.edfilmfest.org.uk/ Animate Projects http://www.animateprojects.org/ http://www.animateprojects.org/films/by_date/20141/navigations Google spotlight stories http://atap.google.com/spotlight-stories/ Akbar’s Cheetah https://vimeo.com/102400947 Lupus Films http://lupusfilms.com/ British Council Festival Directory http://film.britishcouncil.org/festivals-directory (The British Council also publish a Key Festivals list each year with A and B ranking. If you get in to an A festival they'll pay for you to fly out there, B festivals are a maybe. http://film.britishcouncil.org/docs/KeyFestivalsList2016_1468972064.pdf) Oscars Eligibility Guidelines https://www.oscars.org/sites/oscars/files/rule19_short_additional_resources.pdf Ross Hogg - Spectators https://vimeo.com/68322131 Simon Cartwright - Manoman https://vimeo.com/169256540 The Thief and The Cobbler https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Thief_and_the_Cobbler Oscar Grillo http://grillomation.blogspot.co.uk/ Nasreddin https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nasreddin
  • Pegbar and Grill podcast

    Series 2, Episode 5: Tuna Bora

    2:02:25

    Tuna Bora is a freelance maker of images, based in Los Angeles via Turkey. Tuna has work with clients in feature & TV animation, games, and advertising. We Discuss her involvement in the 'Google Spotlight Stories' film, ‘Pearl’, ambition, visas, and sexism within the animation industry. Tuna Bora Links: http://tunabora.com/ https://www.instagram.com/tunamunaluna/?hl=en http://tunabora.tumblr.com/ https://twitter.com/tunamunaluna?lang=en Show Notes ‘Pearl’, the film for 'Google Spotlight Stories' that Tuna art-directed https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqCH4DNQBUA Patrick Osborne https://twitter.com/PatrickTOsborne Patrick Orborne’s film, 'Feast' https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mz-FCv5xIOU ATAP https://atap.google.com/ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0V9U-ZFyKLw DARPA http://www.darpa.mil/ Levi's 'Smart Jacket' https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yJ-lcdMfziw https://atap.google.com/#project-jacquard 'Battling Boy', a film in development by Patrick Osborne https://www.amazon.co.uk/Battling-Boy-Paul-Pope/dp/1596431458 'Paperman' - Directed by John Kahrs Jeff Turley http://jeffturley.tumblr.com/ Shiyoon Kim http://shiyoonkim.tumblr.com/ Rebecca Sugar https://twitter.com/rebeccasugar http://rebeccasugar.tumblr.com/ Roland Barthes https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roland_Barthes Oren Haskins http://orenhaskins.tumblr.com/ Willie Real http://www.williereal.org/ Meg Park http://megpark.tumblr.com/ Pascal Campion http://pascalcampion.tumblr.com/ Light Grey Art Labs http://lightgreyartlab.com/ Tuna’s book http://tunabora.com/index.php?p=c248e Elsa Chang http://elasmosaurus.tumblr.com/ Marcelo Vignali http://vignalistudio.tumblr.com/ Diane Von Furstenberg https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diane_von_F%C3%BCrstenberg Art Center http://www.artcenter.edu/ Tuesday Bassen Zara scandal https://www.theguardian.com/fashion/2016/jul/21/zara-accused-copying-artist-designs-fashion

Accedi a tutto il mondo dei podcast con l’app gratuita GetPodcast.

Iscriviti ai tuoi podcast preferiti, ascolta gli episodi offline e ricevi fantastici consigli.

iOS buttonAndroid button