Episode 830: What are 2 types of inferiorities?

Rewind 15 seconds
Fast Forward 15 seconds

For the first 5 years, focus on loving the child. Next ten years focus on teaching and disciplining the child. From 16years onwards be a friend to the child, says a subhashita in Hindu culture.

Laalayet Panchavarshaani
Dasha-varshaani taadayet
Praapte tu shodashe varshe
Putram mitravad aacharet.

The first 5 years are the formative years of the child. Love, care and compassion will help the child to develop a positive, healthy self-love and shape the self-esteem. Once this strong foundation is laid, one can discipline where necessary. Unfortunately in the world today we focus more on disciplining in the formative years and create so much pressure for the children. They grow up feeling low, under-confident, unworthy and unloved. This is the primary inferiority complex.
These feelings carry forward in life and affect the individual in all walks of life. One of the main reasons for growing mental health challenges, drugs, depression, suicides amongst the youth is the Primary inferiority Complex.

In the formative year, Let us focus more on love, rather than on discipline.

Please support this podcast by pressing the follow button and support Chinmaya Mission Mumbai projects taken up by Swami Swatmananda, through generous donations. Contribution by Indians in INR can be made online using this link:

Donors outside India who would like to offer any Gurudakshina/donation can send an email to [email protected] with a cc to [email protected] to get further details.

These podcasts @ChinmayaShivam are also available on Spotify, Apple iTunes, Apple Podcasts, Podomatic, Amazon music and Google Podcast

FB page:





More episodes from "CHINMAYA SHIVAM"